PIN Protect
In this article, you will find all the necessary info you need to activate the PIN protect feature in your Viva.com powered by Google Play card terminal and/or mobile phone tablets 'Viva.com terminal'.
The pin protect feature, once enabled, limits employees from performing certain actions.
➥ What features can be PIN-protected?
-
Settings: If enabled, the user will need to enter the PIN to access the Settings.
-
Transactions: If enabled, the user will need to enter the PIN to access the Transactions page.
-
Preauthorization (Preauth): If enabled, selecting the preauthorization button on the main screen will be PIN protected.
-
Refunds: If enabled, access to and approval of refunds will be PIN protected.
-
Capture Preauthorization (Capture Preauth): If enabled, executing a preauthorized transaction will be PIN protected.
-
MOTO (Mail Order/Telephone Order): If enabled, access to the Virtual Terminal will be PIN protected.
➥ Additional Protection Options:
-
Disable Manual Amount Entry: If enabled, users cannot manually enter amounts on the POS screen. Payments can only be initiated from a third-party application or via API.
-
Require Card for Refunds: If enabled, refunds cannot be processed without the presence of the card.
-
Kiosk Mode: If enabled, kiosk mode will be activated. Kiosk mode can be used:
-
Standalone, without an integration.
-
With a Cloud Terminal API (REST API) integration.
-
It is not compatible with inter-app integrations.
-
It is not compatible with iOS devices.
-
➥ Instructions for Setting Up PIN Protection
-
From the POS main screen, click “More” in the bottom-right corner.
-
Next, click “PIN protected Settings.»
-
On the following screen:
-
Toggle the switch at the top to “Enable PIN Protection.”
-
Select which features you want to protect with a PIN (refer to the available options listed above).
-
➥ Changing or Setting a PIN
You can set or change your PIN at any time from the same section.
Note: The options “Information,” “Update,” and “Send Log Files” are not PIN protected, even if “Settings” is selected. This ensures all users can access these features at any time.